How does segment-based content visibility work?
Understand how Segments control which Hub sections and content playlists your members can see
Use Segmentsto control which Hub sections and content playlists your members can see, creating a more personalized experience for different audiences.
What happens when you apply a Segment?
Segments allow you to group contacts based on criteria such as their tags, access level, or behavior. You can use these Segments to control the visibility of Hub content.
When you apply a Segment to a content playlist or Hub section, only members who belong to that Segment can see it. Members outside the Segment won't see a locked or restricted version of the content or section. It won't appear in their Hub.
For example, you could use Segments to show specific content to members on a particular plan, provide different resources to different audiences, or personalize the content available to your members.
To learn more about creating and managing Segments, see What Is a Segment?.
Where can you apply Segments?
You can control content visibility by applying Segments to content playlists or individual Hub sections.
Hub Content Visibility
When you apply a Segment to a content playlist, the playlist will only be visible to members who belong to that Segment.
From your Hub dashboard, select Content. Open the playlist you want to manage and select Segment Access.

Select the Segment(s) you want to apply, then click ➕ Select Segment. The selected visibility settings apply wherever the content playlist is shared in your Hub.
NOTE: Applying a Segment to a content playlist automatically applies the same visibility settings to any Hub section where that playlist is added.
Hub Section Visibility
You can also apply a Segment directly to a Hub section to control who can see it.
In the Hub editor, find the section you want to manage and open its Visibility dropdown.
Select Segment to open the Segment selection window.

Select an existing Segment or create a new one from the slide-in window, then click ➕ Select Segment.

The Hub section will only be visible to members who belong to the selected Segment.
Learn more about using Segments
For a walkthrough of how Segment-based content visibility works and where to apply Segments, watch this video tutorial.